Google announced the Fitbit Edge today. It costs $179.99, is available for pre-order now on the Google Store and through retail partners, and will be on shelves October 27. Every purchase includes three months of Google Health Premium. A Stephen Curry Special Edition is also launching at $219.99.
The leaks turned out to be mostly right on name, price and date, but Google announced more than the leaks showed: ECG, a skin temperature sensor, Health Guardian features and Google Health Coach.
Quick Answer: Fitbit Edge at a Glance

Quick Answer: Fitbit Edge at a Glance
- Name: Fitbit Edge (officially announced October 12, 2026)
- What it is: a screen-equipped fitness tracker that succeeds the Charge 6, sitting between the screenless Fitbit Air and the Pixel Watch 5
- Price: $179.99 (Stephen Curry Special Edition: $219.99)
- Availability: Pre-order now; on shelves October 27, 2026
- Display: Hybrid OLED, Google’s largest and brightest tracker screen yet, with 46% more viewing area than previous trackers. Screen size in inches was not stated.
- Design: 11.5mm thin, recycled aluminum case, water resistant up to 50 meters, case 45% lighter than the Apple Watch Series 12 (per Google)
- Key features: built-in GPS, altimeter, 50+ exercise modes, automatic detection of up to 100 workouts, Google Maps, media controls, call and message notifications
- Health sensors: ECG app, continuous optical heart rate, dedicated skin temperature sensor, sleep stage and HRV tracking
- Health Guardian: background tracking of blood pressure trends, insulin resistance trends and high/low heart rate alerts
- Battery: up to 7 days; fast magnetic charging gives about a full day of battery in 5 minutes
- Colors: Obsidian (matte black), Fog (polished silver), Olive (satin pyrite), Canyon (warm gold)
- Repairability: Google’s first repairable fitness tracker, with an internal modular design and a replaceable battery
- Phone support: Android and iOS were reported in leaks. Google’s announcement did not mention phone compatibility, so check the Google Store page before buying.
Fitbit Air Just Launched — Where Does That Leave the Charge 7?
Google launched the Fitbit Air, a slim, screenless tracker, on May 7, 2026 at $99.99, with sales starting May 26. Google now has a clear three-tier range: Air (no screen), Edge (screen, GPS and advanced sensors) and Pixel Watch 5 (full smartwatch).
Google’s own framing is that many people want something between an advanced smartwatch like the Pixel Watch and the quiet simplicity of a band like the Fitbit Air. That is the Edge.
Apple is reportedly exploring a similar screenless category too — see our breakdown of how an Apple version would stack up against Fitbit Air, Whoop, and Garmin Cirqa if the rumors turn into a real product.
Fitbit Edge Specs (Official)

| Feature | Fitbit Edge (Official, Oct 12) |
|---|---|
| Price | $179.99 ($219.99 Stephen Curry Special Edition) |
| Availability | Pre-order now, in stores October 27 |
| Display | Hybrid OLED, 46% more viewing area than previous trackers, readable in direct sunlight. Size not stated. |
| Thickness / build | 11.5mm, recycled aluminum, water resistant to 50m |
| GPS | Built-in precision GPS, up to 40% better accuracy than previous generations (per Google), plus integrated altimeter |
| Workouts | 50+ exercise modes; auto-detects up to 100 workouts |
| Heart | Continuous optical heart rate, on-wrist ECG app |
| Sleep / recovery | Skin temperature sensor, sleep stages, HRV, morning recovery score |
| Health Guardian | Blood pressure trends, insulin resistance trends, high/low heart rate alerts |
| Smart features | Google Maps, media controls, call and message notifications, customizable watch faces |
| Coaching | Google Health Coach; deeper guidance with Google Health Premium (3 months free with purchase) |
| Battery | Up to 7 days; ~1 day from a 5-minute charge |
| Repairability | Replaceable battery, modular internals |
| Colors | Obsidian, Fog, Olive, Canyon |
| Bands | Active Sport, Performance Loop, Magnet, Metal Links |
| SpO2, Google Wallet/NFC, Wi-Fi/cellular | Not mentioned in Google’s announcement. Leaks and the FCC filing point to Bluetooth LE only, with no Wi-Fi or cellular. |
Note on Health Guardian: blood pressure and insulin resistance features are described by Google as trends, not diagnoses. Some Google Health Premium coaching features need a subscription after the three-month trial.
The spec that matters most: the Charge 6 has built-in GPS, but its signal drops often forced runners to carry their phone. Google says the Edge improves GPS accuracy by up to 40%, helped by an aluminum housing and an upgraded GPS chipset. Real-world tests will show whether that holds up. We will update this post after our testing.
Fitbit Air vs Fitbit Edge: What’s the Difference?
| Feature | Fitbit Air | Fitbit Edge |
|---|---|---|
| Status | Available now | Pre-order now, in stores Oct 27 |
| Price | $99.99 | $179.99 |
| Display | screenless | Hybrid OLED display |
| Built-in GPS | No | Yes, plus altimeter |
| ECG | Not included | Yes (on-wrist ECG app) |
| Skin temperature | Not confirmed | Yes (dedicated sensor) |
| Notifications / Maps | No screen | Yes |
| Battery | 7 days | Up to 7 days |
| Target user | Everyday health tracking, light use | Active users, runners, anyone wanting a screen and GPS |
Bottom line: the Edge is more than a design refresh. For $80 more than the Air you get a screen, built-in GPS, an altimeter, ECG, a skin temperature sensor and Health Guardian features. They target different users: Air for quiet everyday tracking, Edge for people who train and want a display.
Fitbit Edge vs Fitbit Charge 6
Short version: the Edge costs $179.99 and adds a bigger Hybrid OLED display, an altimeter, up to 40% better GPS accuracy (per Google), a 5-minute fast charge, a replaceable battery and Health Guardian features.
The Charge 6 is still the cheaper pick if you find it on sale. For the full side-by-side, read our dedicated comparison: Fitbit Edge vs Charge 6: Should You Wait for the New Fitbit?
Should You Buy the Edge, the Air, or the Charge 6?
Buy the Fitbit Edge if you:
- want built-in GPS and an altimeter for running, cycling or hill workouts
- want ECG, skin temperature and Health Guardian features
- want a screen, notifications and Google Maps on a slim tracker
- own a Charge 6 and want a clear upgrade (better GPS, bigger screen, replaceable battery)
Buy the Fitbit Air if you:
- want the cheapest option ($99.99) and don’t need a screen or GPS
- prefer a quiet, screenless band you can wear day and night
Consider the Charge 6 if you:
- find it at a discounted price and can live without the Edge’s newer display, GPS chipset and altimeter
Deciding between the Edge and Google’s screenless tracker? See my Fitbit Air vs Fitbit Edge comparison.
Is the Charge 7 Cancelled?
No. The Charge 7 never existed as a name. The Fitbit Edge is the Charge 6’s successor, now officially announced.
How the Leaks Played Out
- August 2026: an unidentified screen-equipped tracker appears in Google’s Pixel 11 ads in Australia (“Make it a matching set”).
- September 10-11: FCC filing for G8BL6 (FCC ID SZGG8BL6, Goertek) shows a wrist-worn device with a screen, GNSS and Bluetooth LE, using the same grantee code as Fitbit Air.
- September 14: Singapore’s IMDA lists Google as the brand for G8BL6.
- October 4: Android Headlines publishes retail assets naming the Fitbit Edge.
- October 8: Evan Blass leaks more images and four colors.
- October 9: Google Health teases the Edge (“Get an Edge on your health”) and the date 10.12.26.
- October 12: Google announces the Fitbit Edge.
What the leaks got right: the name, the October 12 date, built-in GPS and altimeter, 7-day battery, a price near $180 and the Olive and Canyon colors.
What the leaks missed or got wrong: White was not a color (the official colors are Obsidian, Fog, Olive, Canyon); the metal strips and ECG were unconfirmed in leaks but ECG is official; skin temperature, Health Guardian, Google Health Coach, the repairable design and the Curry edition were not in the leaks.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Fitbit Edge officially announced?
Yes. Google announced it on October 12, 2026.
How much does the Fitbit Edge cost?
$179.99. The Stephen Curry Special Edition is $219.99. For comparison, the Charge 6 launched at $159.95 and the Fitbit Air costs $99.99.
When is the Fitbit Edge release date?
Pre-orders are open now on the Google Store and through retail partners. It will be on shelves October 27, 2026.
Will there be a Fitbit Charge 7?
No. The Edge is the Charge 6’s successor under a new name.
No. The Edge is the Charge 6’s successor under a new name.
No. The Edge is the Charge 6’s successor under a new name. The Air is a screenless everyday tracker without GPS. The Edge has a display, built-in GPS, an altimeter, ECG, a skin temperature sensor and Health Guardian features, at $80 more.
Does the Fitbit Edge have ECG?
Yes, Google lists an on-wrist ECG app.
Does the Fitbit Edge have a skin temperature sensor?
Yes, a dedicated skin temperature sensor tracks nightly fluctuations.
Does the Fitbit Edge work with iPhone?
Leaks said Android and iOS. Google’s announcement did not mention compatibility, so check the Google Store listing.
Does the Fitbit Edge have SpO2, Google Wallet or cellular?
Google’s announcement did not list them. Leaks and the FCC filing indicate Bluetooth LE only, with no Wi-Fi or cellular.
Should I buy the Charge 6 now or wait?
The Edge is now available to pre-order. If GPS accuracy, a bigger display or a replaceable battery matter to you, the Edge is the better pick. The Charge 6 makes sense only at a clear discount.
Related Articles
- Garmin Cirqa vs Fitbit Air (2026): Which Screenless Tracker to Buy?
- Fitbit Charge 6 Review: Still Worth Buying in 2026?
- Buying Guide Best Fitbit to Buy in 2026 — Every Model Ranked
- Google Pixel Watch 5: Price, Design, Display, Health & Everything You Need to Know
- Best Screenless Fitness Trackers 2026: A Full Side-by-Side Comparison
Editorial note: This article is based on Google’s official October 12, 2026 announcement. Earlier sections drew on leaks, filings and teasers, which are now labelled as such. SmartWatchInsight has no insider information about Google’s product roadmap. Last updated: October 12, 2026.
Sources: Google, “Google Fitbit Edge: Our all-new smartest fitness tracker ever” (October 12, 2026). Earlier leak reporting: Android Headlines, 9to5Google, Android Authority, Notebookcheck, Gadgets & Wearables, Thetechoutlook (September-October 2026).






